LDAC members are appointed by the Attorney-General.

List of members

  • Mark Steel (Chair), Director Regulatory Systems, Strategic Policy and Programmes Group, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

  • Sarah Kerkin (Deputy Chair), Chief Advisor to the Deputy Secretary, Policy, Ministry of Justice

  • Guy Beatson (Deputy Chair), General Manager, Governance Leadership Centre, Institute of Directors New Zealand

  • Allison Bennett, Director, Legal Services, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

  • Brigid McArthur, Partner, Greenwood Roche, Wellington

  • Cassie Nicholson (ex officio), Chief Parliamentary Counsel, Parliamentary Counsel Office

  • Dagny Baltakmens (ex officio), Principal Solicitor, Office of Legal Counsel, Ministry of Justice

  • Graeme Morrison, Policy Lead, Policy and Strategy, Inland Revenue Department

  • Jason Gough (ex officio), Senior Crown Counsel, Crown Law Office

  • Jessica Gorman (ex officio), Policy Advisor (Legal), Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

  • Jonathan Orpin-Dowell, Barrister, Stout Street Chambers

  • Karl Simpson (ex officio), Deputy Chief Parliamentary Counsel - System and Stewardship, Parliamentary Counsel Office

  • Kathy Orpin-Dowell (alternate member), Crown Counsel, System Advice Team, Crown Law

  • Kelly Hanson-White, Chief Advisor Regulatory Excellence, Regulatory Effectiveness Group, WorkSafe NZ

  • Māmari Stephens, Reader, Te Kura Tātai Ture, Faculty of Law, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Matthew Smith, Barrister, Thorndon Chambers

  • Paul Rishworth KC, Barrister, Auckland

  • Sam Miles, Principal Policy Analyst, The Department of Internal Affairs

  • Scott Murray (alternate member), Principal Counsel, Parliamentary Counsel Office

  • Stuart McGilvray, Chief Legal Adviser, Office of the Ombudsman